Manual pull station placement and mounting height in Canada
Ontario Building Code Article 3.8.1.5 sets the mounting height for a manual station located in or adjacent to a barrier-free path of travel at 1 200 mm above the finished floor, with an operating force of no more than 22.2 N, while Article 3.2.4.16 requires a station in every floor area near every principal entrance to the building and near every exit. CAN/ULC-S524, the installation standard the Building Code references, is reported by Canadian secondary sources to require 1 050 mm to 1 150 mm measured to the centre of the station, so the two numbers do not line up. Where they conflict the Building Code governs, because it is law and the standard only has force through Article 3.2.4.5 referencing it. The Code does not say what point on the device its 1 200 mm is measured to, so confirm that with your building official before you set out a floor of back boxes.
Last updated: September 2026
Quick answer
- Ontario Building Code Article 3.2.4.16 puts a manual station in every floor area near every principal entrance to the building and near every exit. The 2024 edition dropped "required" from "every required exit".
- There is no travel distance limit in that article. A 45 m or 61 m number came from the design or from an American standard, not from the Code.
- OBC Article 3.8.1.5 sets 1 200 mm above the finished floor for a manual station in or adjacent to a barrier-free path of travel, a force of no more than 22.2 N, and a clear floor space of 810 mm by 1 370 mm.
- CAN/ULC-S524 is reported by two Canadian sources to require 1 050 mm to 1 150 mm to the centre of the station. The standard is paywalled, so treat that as secondary.
- Where the two conflict, the Building Code governs: it is law, and S524 only has force through OBC Article 3.2.4.5 referencing it.
- Article 3.8.1.5 does not say what point on the device the 1 200 mm is measured to. That omission is the whole argument.
Where the Building Code actually puts a manual station
The placement rule is short. The National Building Code 2020 wording, which Ontario now mirrors, is that where a fire alarm system is installed, a manual station shall be installed in every floor area near every principal entrance to the building and near every exit. That is the whole of Sentence (1), quoted verbatim in the free Canadian Board for Harmonized Construction Codes public review file for proposed change 1768.
Three things follow. Every floor area, not every floor: a storey split by a firewall is two floor areas. Near every exit, not every exit door: a stair serving eight storeys is one exit, served at each floor area it opens onto, and doors in series at grade are still one exit. Near, not at: the Code gives no dimension for "near", so if your building official wants one, get it on the permit set.
Ontario renumbered this in 2024. Under the 2012 Code it was Article 3.2.4.18, "Manual Pull Stations"; under O. Reg. 163/24 it is Article 3.2.4.16, "Manual Stations". A municipal training deck from Leeds and the Thousand Islands records the substantive change: the trigger moved from "every required exit" to "every exit". If you lay out from a memorised 3.2.4.18, you are quoting a repealed number. The article also carries relief for sprinklered hotels and sprinklered residential buildings of three storeys or fewer where suites have their own exterior exit facilities, though stations are still required near doorways from shared interior corridors to the exterior, and hotels need one at main reception.
Is there a maximum travel distance to a pull station?
Not in the Building Code article. We read two independent renderings of the Ontario text and the national text quoted in the CBHCC file, and none contains a travel distance figure. The number circulating on Canadian sites is imported: American guidance sets a travel distance to a manual fire alarm box, Canadian building code does not. If a specification says no point shall be more than a set distance from a station, that is a contract obligation, not a Code one, so raise it in an RFI rather than assuming you missed a clause. We could not read CAN/ULC-S524, so we cannot rule out a distribution requirement inside the standard.
The height conflict, which is why this page exists
| Source | Height | Measured to | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| OBC Article 3.8.1.5 | 1 200 mm above finished floor | not stated in the article | Law, O. Reg. 163/24 |
| CAN/ULC-S524, current edition | 1 050 to 1 150 mm | centre of the manual station | Standard, referenced by the Code |
| CAN/ULC-S524-01 and -06 | 1 200 to 1 400 mm | centre of the manual station | Superseded |
The Building Code side has a real number behind it, read on a secondary reproduction because Division B is not on e-Laws. Article 3.8.1.5, "Controls" applies to controls for building services or safety devices intended to be operated by the occupant and located in or adjacent to a barrier-free path of travel, and it names manual stations explicitly. Manual stations and thermostats get 1 200 mm above the finished floor; every other control gets not less than 900 mm and not more than 1 100 mm. The station must sit adjacent to and centred on a clear floor space of 810 mm by 1 370 mm, and be operable with one hand, without tight grasping, pinching or twisting of the wrist, with a force of not more than 22.2 N. The same numbers appear in a mirror of the 2012 Code.
The standard side we could not verify directly, and we are not going to pretend otherwise. IAEI Magazine's Canadian column quotes the standard as requiring 1 050 mm to 1 150 mm above the finished floor, measured from the centre of the station. The Fire Protection Technicians Network field device guide gives the same range for S524-14 and ULC 524:2024, and records that S524-01 and -06 called for 1 200 mm to 1 400 mm to centre. Both are secondary.
That historic range is why an old bulletin still ranks. City of Winnipeg Bulletin 2008-005-B/E set out the original collision: the Manitoba Building Code capped barrier-free controls at 1 200 mm, S524-06 demanded 1 200 mm to 1 400 mm, and the only height satisfying both was exactly 1 200 mm. When the standard came down, the bulletin stopped describing the current world, but its answer stuck.
Which number governs on an Ontario job
The Building Code. It is a regulation made under the Building Code Act, and CAN/ULC-S524 only has force here because Article 3.2.4.5 says fire alarm systems shall be installed in conformance with it and verified in conformance with CAN/ULC-S537. A referenced document cannot override the regulation that references it.
The more useful answer is that Article 3.8.1.5 has a scope limit: it applies to controls in or adjacent to a barrier-free path of travel. A station beside the main entrance of an office floor is in one. A station at the exit from a mechanical penthouse, a locked service corridor or an impeded egress zone is arguably not, and outside a barrier-free path there is no 1 200 mm rule at all, leaving S524's range as your only height requirement. So one correctly built job can carry stations at two heights: mark both on the riser and the device schedule. For how a code and the standards it references sit together, see Building Code versus Fire Code in Ontario.
The measurement point, which is where the money goes
CAN/ULC-S524 measures to the centre of the manual station. Both Canadian sources agree, and it is the sensible reading for a device standard. Article 3.8.1.5 says 1 200 mm above the finished floor and stops. It names no point on the device. That is not a gap we invented; we read the article and it is not there. Two readings are available.
If the 1 200 mm is to the centre, you are 50 mm above the top of the S524 range. Small, defensible, and probably what the drafters meant, since the same sentence treats a thermostat identically and a thermostat has no operating point other than its middle.
If it is to the operating handle, the geometry moves. On common Canadian single action stations the pull bar sits roughly 40 to 80 mm below the geometric centre, though that varies by model and the figure should come off your product drawing, not off this page. Setting the handle at 1 200 mm lifts the centre to roughly 1 240 to 1 280 mm, or 90 to 130 mm above the top of the S524 range.
Worked through: your drawing puts the pull bar 60 mm below centre, and your apprentice sets thirty back boxes with the handle at 1 200 mm. Every centre lands at 1 260 mm. The verifier measures to centre against a range topping out at 1 150 mm and writes thirty deficiencies. Nothing is unsafe, nothing looks wrong, and every box is in framed or poured wall. That is a day of chopping and patching for one ambiguous sentence, and the fix is a one line question to the building official before layout, with the answer written on the drawing.
Height is only one third of Article 3.8.1.5. The clear floor space is 810 mm by 1 370 mm with the station adjacent to and centred on it, so a station tucked into a 400 mm return, behind a swinging leaf or above a baseboard heater has the right height and the wrong approach. The operating force is not more than 22.2 N one handed, which dual action stations and stiff covers can fail.
Protective covers and stations that get pulled for fun
Covers that sound a local piezo when the lid is lifted are common in schools, shelters, arenas and student residences. They are not a Building Code product and the Building Code does not mention them. The Ontario position sits in the Fire Code. Ontario Fire Marshal Public Fire Safety Guideline 04-88-13 states that where pull stations are subject to accidental or intentional activation, provisions can be made to relocate or cover them with a false alarm prevention device, and that such modifications must comply with the Fire Code. Section 6.3 of the Fire Code allows relocation where false alarms are frequent if it is approved and alternate approved measures maintain life safety, and requires access to components needing inspection or servicing to be kept unobstructed. We read those provisions from an unofficial mirror rather than e-Laws, so we state them in plain terms rather than printing article numbers.
Three rules follow. A cover is an approval item, not an installer's decision. It must not push the operating effort past 22.2 N. And a cover is an accessory, which puts it inside the scope of CAN/ULC 528:2024, the Standard for Manual Stations for Fire Alarm Systems, Including Accessories: fit one listed with the station rather than a generic guard, and keep the paperwork with the verification file.
Key operated stations, two stage systems, exterior and wet locations
Key switch activated stations are permitted by Article 3.2.4.16 in an impeded egress zone and a contained use area, in the occupancies the article names. That is a narrow allowance for detention and secure care settings, not a licence to key a station because a tenant is tired of false alarms.
Two stage systems do not change where a manual station goes or how high it sits. What changes is what follows a pull: the station initiates the alert stage, and the general alarm comes from the control unit timer or a deliberate act at the control facility. How each manufacturer implements that sits in the standard and the product literature rather than any free source we could find, so we are not stating a clause number for it. Our single stage versus two stage guide covers the signalling.
Exterior and wet locations need two things at once: a device listed for the location, and a wiring method the electrical code accepts there. CAN/ULC 528 covers manual stations and accessories for ordinary locations both indoor and outdoor, so weatherproof stations are a listed Canadian product category. They are uncommon here and usually a designer's decision rather than a Code requirement, so find out which document is driving it.
Wiring back to the panel
Placement changes nothing about the circuit. A conventional station is a normally open contact on an initiating device circuit, supervised end to end; an addressable station is a module on the loop. Cable type, rating, separation from power conductors and mechanical protection come from the electrical code and the fire alarm standard together: see fire alarm cable in Canada and CEC Section 32. In Ontario this is electrical work, which is why who can work on fire alarms in Ontario keeps coming up on mixed crews.
What the verifier checks
Manual stations are verified device by device. The CAN/ULC-S537-13 report form, published as Appendix C of the standard and available free, records for each station its location, device type code, circuit number or address, a confirmation that it is correctly installed per CAN/ULC-S524 and the manufacturer's instructions, and a confirmation that operating it produced the expected alarm. Height sits inside that "correctly installed" tick, so a station at the wrong height becomes a deficiency on a certificate that follows the building. What S537 verification involves covers the rest.
Where the provinces differ
Ontario is the outlier, in a good way: it names manual stations in its barrier-free controls article. The National Building Code 2020 does not. A 2023 public review proposal at the CBHCC sought to add them, precisely because the national code does not treat manual stations as controls, noting that T handle stations may not be operable by people with limited dexterity. So outside Ontario you may have no building code height for a manual station at all, only the S524 range. The Vancouver Building By-law sets controls at 455 mm to 1 200 mm with a force of not more than 22 N and does not name manual stations; Manitoba, per the Winnipeg bulletin, capped controls at 1 200 mm. Because the current S524 range sits inside those windows, Ontario's conflict does not arise the same way in British Columbia or Manitoba. Which edition your province has adopted is a separate question: see which ULC edition does my province use.
Why the American answer keeps winning this search
Search this question and you get the ADA operable parts reach range, an NFPA article on pull station height, a New York City bulletin and a US forum thread. None of it applies here. The ADA has no force in Canada, NFPA 72 is not adopted by any Canadian building code as the fire alarm installation standard, and the 48 inch reach maximum behind that discussion has no Canadian equivalent. Those numbers are close enough to look interchangeable and different enough to fail a verification.
What we could not confirm
- We did not read CAN/ULC-S524. The 1 050 to 1 150 mm range and the "measured to the centre" point come from IAEI Magazine and the Fire Protection Technicians Network guide. Both are Canadian and both agree, but neither is the standard.
- We could not confirm which S524 edition the 2024 Ontario Building Code references. The table sits in the free 2024 Building Code Compendium but we could not extract it. CAN/ULC-S524:2019 is recorded as withdrawn and superseded by CAN/ULC 524:2024 at the Standards Council of Canada, and the edition Ontario names may be older than either.
- Article 3.8.1.5 does not state its measurement point. That is an omission in the Code, not in our research, and it is what to resolve with your building official. The 40 to 80 mm handle offset above is a general observation about common geometry, not a code figure.
- The Building Code article numbers here are still not confirmed against the official text, and the reason is structural, not technical. O. Reg. 163/24 on e-Laws is four sections long and carries no Division B article numbers at all: it adopts the National Building Code of Canada 2020 as amended by an Ontario amendment document. Division B is only readable in the 2024 Building Code Compendium, which Publications Ontario issues free but does not publish as open text. The Building Code text here therefore comes from two independent unofficial mirrors that agree, plus the CBHCC file quoting the national text verbatim. Confirm anything load bearing against the official Compendium. The Fire Code is the opposite case: O. Reg. 213/07 is complete and free on e-Laws, consolidation period beginning 1 January 2026, e-Laws currency date 2 September 2026, last amendment O. Reg. 303/25.
Fire Alarm Academy provides educational content only. It does not confer any certification, licence or credential, and it is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or accredited by the Canadian Fire Alarm Association, the Electrical Contractors Association of Ontario, ULC Standards, UL Standards and Engagement, CSA Group, the Electrical Safety Authority, any authority having jurisdiction, or any manufacturer. Always work from the edition of any standard adopted by your authority having jurisdiction.
Frequently asked questions
How high do you mount a fire alarm pull station in Ontario?
Ontario Building Code Article 3.8.1.5 requires a manual station in or adjacent to a barrier-free path of travel to be mounted 1 200 mm above the finished floor. The article does not state whether that is measured to the centre of the device or to the pull handle, so confirm the measurement point with your building official before layout.
What height does CAN/ULC-S524 give for a manual station?
Two Canadian sources, IAEI Magazine's Canadian column and the Fire Protection Technicians Network installation guide, report that the current edition of CAN/ULC-S524 requires 1 050 mm to 1 150 mm above the finished floor measured to the centre of the manual station. The standard is paywalled, so we could not read it directly and label that range as secondary.
Does the American 48 inch pull station height apply in Canada?
No. The 48 inch figure comes from ADA operable parts requirements, which are American civil rights rules with no force in Canada, and NFPA 72 is not the fire alarm installation standard adopted by Canadian building codes. Use the Ontario Building Code and CAN/ULC-S524.
Where does the Building Code require manual stations?
Ontario Building Code Article 3.2.4.16 requires a manual station in every floor area near every principal entrance to the building and near every exit, subject to relief for some low rise sprinklered residential and hotel situations. The 2024 edition changed the trigger from every required exit to every exit.
Is there a maximum travel distance to a pull station in Canada?
Not in the Ontario Building Code or the National Building Code manual station article, which contain no travel distance figure. If a specification gives you one, treat it as a project requirement from the designer rather than a code requirement, and confirm it in an RFI.
Are protective covers on pull stations allowed in Ontario?
Ontario Fire Marshal Public Fire Safety Guideline 04-88-13 states that where stations are subject to accidental or intentional activation, they may be relocated or fitted with a false alarm prevention device, provided the modification complies with the Fire Code. Treat it as an approval item with the authority having jurisdiction, and make sure the cover does not push the operating force past 22.2 N.
Can a pull station be key operated?
Ontario Building Code Article 3.2.4.16 permits key switch activated manual stations in an impeded egress zone and in a contained use area, in the occupancies the article names. It is a narrow allowance for detention and secure care settings, not a general fix for nuisance alarms.
What does the verifier check on a manual station at S537 verification?
The CAN/ULC-S537 report form records each station's location, device type, circuit number or address, a confirmation that it is correctly installed in accordance with CAN/ULC-S524 and the manufacturer's instructions, and a confirmation that operating it produced an alarm. A station at the wrong height fails the correctly installed check and becomes a deficiency on the certificate.
Sources
- Ontario Building Code (O. Reg. 163/24) Division B Article 3.8.1.5, Controls, via CodeIndex
- Ontario Building Code (O. Reg. 163/24) Division B Article 3.2.4.16, Manual Stations, via CodeIndex
- 2024 Building Code Compendium, free download, Publications Ontario
- Canadian Board for Harmonized Construction Codes, proposed change 1768 to NBC 2020 Article 3.2.4.16, quoting the existing text
- Township of Leeds and the Thousand Islands, 2024 Code Changes, Division B Part 3
- City of Winnipeg Information Bulletin 2008-005-B/E, Mounting Heights of Electrical Controls in Barrier-Free Paths of Travel
- IAEI Magazine, Canadian column, quoting the CAN/ULC-S524 manual station mounting height (secondary source)
- Fire Protection Technicians Network, Fire Alarm System Field Device Installation Guide (secondary source)
- CAN/ULC-S537-13 Appendix C fire alarm verification report form
- Standards Council of Canada catalogue record for CAN/ULC 528:2024, Manual Stations for Fire Alarm Systems, Including Accessories
- Standards Council of Canada catalogue record for CAN/ULC-S524:2019, showing it superseded by CAN/ULC 524:2024
- Vancouver Building By-law 2019, Division B Section 3.8 Accessibility, Article 3.8.3.8 Controls and Outlets
Related guides
What a CAN/ULC-S537 Verification Actually Involves
Verification is a one-time event that proves a newly installed or altered fire alarm system was built to its design and to CAN/ULC-S524, and that it does everything it is supposed to do. It produces a Certificate of Verification. It is not the annual inspection and it is not maintenance. Ontario's Building Code Article 3.2.4.5.(2) requires verification in conformance with CAN/ULC-S537 but sets no threshold for when an alteration requires a new one; that scope rule sits inside the standard, which is paywalled, and in practice it is a permit and AHJ question.
Single-Stage vs Two-Stage Fire Alarm Systems in Ontario
A single-stage system sounds one signal (the alarm) on every audible signal device in the system, the moment any manual station, waterflow detecting device or fire detector operates. A two-stage system sounds an alert signal first, and escalates to a general alarm signal only if that alert is not acknowledged within 5 minutes. Ontario's Building Code fixes the choice in some occupancies: single-stage in Group F, Division 1 and in elementary and secondary schools, two-stage in Group B. Everything else is the designer's call. The school clause is an Ontario addition with no equivalent in NBC 2020.
Fire alarm cable in Canada: what the electrical code and CAN/ULC-S524 actually require
Fire alarm cable in Canada is governed by Section 32 of the Canadian Electrical Code, adopted in Ontario as the Ontario Electrical Safety Code, which requires copper conductors rated not less than 300 V, a minimum of No. 16 AWG for individual insulated conductors pulled into a raceway and No. 19 AWG for individual insulated conductors laid in a raceway, and requires those conductors to be kept entirely independent of all other wiring. The cable itself is built to CSA C22.2 No. 208, which is where the FAS and FAS 105 markings on the jacket come from, and its flame rating is a CSA FT number rather than an American CMP or CMR designation. Because a fire alarm is a safety control device, the circuit is treated as Class 1 even at 24 V. CAN/ULC-S524 governs how the system is installed, and the Building Code is what required it.
Building Code vs Fire Code: Which One Governs What (Ontario)
The Building Code governs how a building is designed and constructed. The Fire Code governs how a building is operated and maintained once it is in use. In Ontario they are two separate regulations, O. Reg. 163/24 for the Building Code, O. Reg. 213/07 for the Fire Code, made under two separate statutes, enforced by different people, and each with its own table of referenced standards. The practical test on site is simple: if the work is construction, installation, extension or modification, you are in Building Code territory and the municipal building department and its permits are the enforcement path. If the system is already in service and you are inspecting, testing, maintaining or shutting it down, you are in Fire Code territory and the Chief Fire Official is the enforcement path. That split decides which standard applies, how often something has to be done, and whether Ontario names a qualification for the person doing it.