Fire Alarm Audibility in Ontario: How Loud It Has to Be
In Ontario, the fire alarm audible signal within a floor area must be not less than 10 dBA above the ambient noise level and not less than 65 dBA, with intervening doors closed. In a sleeping room in a building of residential occupancy it must be not less than 75 dBA with intervening doors closed, and it must emit a low frequency signal; that low frequency requirement is new in the 2024 Code. The maximum is the messy part: the free Compendium text of Sentence 3.2.4.18.(4) contradicts itself, and the amendment document actually in force is not published online.
Quick answer
| Where | Requirement | Condition | Provision |
|---|---|---|---|
| Floor area | Not less than 10 dBA above ambient, and not less than 65 dBA | Any intervening doors between the device and the rest of the floor area closed | 3.2.4.18.(7) |
| Sleeping room, residential occupancy | Not less than 75 dBA | Any intervening doors between the device and the sleeping room closed | 3.2.4.18.(5) |
| Sleeping room, residential or care occupancy | Must emit a low frequency signal | The Code states no frequency | 3.2.4.18.(6) |
| Suite smoke detectors in lieu of smoke alarms | Between 75 dBA and 110 dBA within the individual suite | Independently sounding | 3.2.4.20.(10)(a) |
| Maximum | The printed text is internally inconsistent: see below | n/a | 3.2.4.18.(4) |
| Visible signals in addition | ambient over 87 dBA; assembly performances that could exceed 100 dBA; ear protection; audiometric booths; sound-insulating enclosures | n/a | 3.2.4.19.(1) |
Read this before you use any number here
Ontario's Building Code is now O. Reg. 163/24: a regulation one page long. It adopts NBC 2020 as amended by the "Ontario Amendments to the National Building Code of Canada 2020."
The amendment document actually in force is dated 17 July 2026, and MMAH does not publish it online. It is sent on email request only, from Ontario.Amendment.Document@ontario.ca.
The free text you can open right now is the 2024 Building Code Compendium (Vol. 1 · Vol. 2), the January 16, 2025 Update (Containing O. Reg. 5/25). That consolidation sits four amendment-document versions behind the one in force. Everything quoted below is from it, and every quote is marked as such.
The article number moved too. Audibility is 3.2.4.18 in the 2024 Code. Under the revoked O. Reg. 332/12 it was 3.2.4.20. Ontario renumbered Subsection 3.2.4 to match NBC 2020, and the shift is not uniform; this article moved by two, others by one or not at all, so do not apply a flat −2 to any other number. The full map is in Ontario vs the National Building Code. An older document citing 3.2.4.20 for audibility is not wrong, it is just old. More on editions and what is in force in which ULC edition applies.
The floor area minimum: 65 dBA, and 10 above ambient
Sentence 3.2.4.18.(7), verbatim from the Compendium:
Except as required by Sentence (5), the sound pressure level from a fire alarm system's audible signal device within a floor area shall be not less than 10 dBA above the ambient noise level and not less than 65 dBA, when any intervening doors between the device and the rest of the floor area are closed.
Three things are doing work in that sentence.
It is two tests, not one. You have to clear 65 dBA and clear ambient by 10. In a quiet corridor the 65 dBA floor governs. In a plant room running at 70 dBA, 65 is a fail; you need 80.
Which means the ambient level is an input, not a footnote. You cannot settle audibility off a drawing. You need to know what each space sounds like with its equipment running.
Doors closed. The measurement condition is written into the requirement. A level taken with the door open is not the level the Code asks for.
Sleeping rooms: 75 dBA, doors closed
Sentence 3.2.4.18.(5), verbatim:
The sound pressure level in a sleeping room from a fire alarm audible signal device shall be not less than 75 dBA in a building of residential occupancy when any intervening doors between the device and the sleeping room are closed.
Ontario and the national code differ here. NBC 2020 reads "in a building of residential or care occupancy." Ontario's Compendium text says residential occupancy only.
So on the face of the printed Ontario text, a sleeping room in a care occupancy is not caught by the 75 dBA sentence. What remains for it is the general floor-area rule in Sentence (7) (10 above ambient and not less than 65 dBA) plus whatever the design, the specification or the AHJ requires. If you are working on a care occupancy, raise this with the AHJ rather than assuming either number.
Low frequency in sleeping rooms: new, and with no frequency attached
Sentence 3.2.4.18.(6), verbatim:
Audible signal devices in sleeping rooms in a building of residential or care occupancy shall emit a low frequency signal.
That is the entire requirement. The Code sets no frequency.
The only figure anywhere near it is a non-mandatory Appendix A note, Vol. 2 printed page 42:
A-3.2.4.18.(6) Low Frequency Signal. Audible signal devices that emit a low frequency signal in the range of 470 Hz to 570 Hz have been shown to be more effective in waking people.
Two things follow that are worth being blunt about.
520 Hz appears nowhere in Ontario's Building Code. It is the NFPA 72 figure (American) and it happens to be the centre of the 470 to 570 Hz band in the appendix note. Devices are marketed on it and specs are written around it, but Ontario law does not state it. If 520 Hz is binding on your project, it is binding because a specification or a listing says so, not because the Code does.
This requirement is new in the 2024 Code. The string "low frequency signal" appears nowhere in the revoked O. Reg. 332/12. If you learned in-suite audibility under the old code, this is a genuinely new obligation, not a re-lettered old one.
And note the scope mismatch. Sentence (6) covers residential or care occupancy. Sentence (5)'s 75 dBA floor covers residential only. Same subject, two different scopes, one article apart.
The maximum: the printed text contradicts itself
This is the part worth your attention, because the free text does not resolve it.
Sentence 3.2.4.18.(4), verbatim from the Compendium:
(4) In all normally occupied spaces, the fire alarm signal sound pressure level (a) shall be not more than 110 dBA when measured at a distance of 3 m from the device, or (b) is permitted to be more than 100 dBA provided the sound pressure level measured 2 000 mm above floor level is not more than 100 dBA.
Read clause (b) against clause (a). Clause (b) grants relief from a 100 dBA ceiling. Clause (a) does not state a 100 dBA ceiling; it states 110. The relief has nothing to attach to.
Here is where the 100 comes from. The revoked O. Reg. 332/12's equivalent, Article 3.2.4.20.(4)(a), read:
not more than 100 dBA when measured at a distance of 3 m from the device
With 100 in clause (a), the pair reads coherently: a 100 dBA ceiling at 3 m, with an alternative that lets you exceed it provided you hold 100 dBA at head height. Ontario appears to have amended clause (a) alone and left the pair incoherent.
And NBC 2020 has neither clause. It reads simply:
The fire alarm signal sound pressure level shall be not more than 110 dBA in any normally occupied area.
No 3 m basis, no 2 000 mm alternative, no clause structure.
What we are not going to do is tell you which number is correct. We do not know. Three readings are all defensible from the documents available: that clause (a) is the current requirement and clause (b) is a leftover; that the amendment document in force has since fixed the pair; or that the intent was to align with NBC's flat 110 dBA and the clause structure survived by accident.
What to do about it. The operative Amendment Document is dated 17 July 2026 and is not published online. If a maximum figure matters on your project (an assembly space, a plant room, anywhere you are pushing device output) request the current amendment document from Ontario.Amendment.Document@ontario.ca, read Article 3.2.4.18 in it, and confirm with your AHJ. That is a one-email question, and it is a better answer than anything you can get from a summary site, including this one.
Suites with smoke detectors instead of smoke alarms
Where smoke detectors are installed in lieu of smoke alarms, Sentence 3.2.4.20.(10)(a) requires that they be
capable of independently sounding audible signals with a sound pressure level between 75 dBA and 110 dBA within the individual suites
That is a bracketed range, both ends stated, and it sits in a different article from the general audibility rules.
Temporal pattern
Smoke alarm sound patterns must, per Sentence 3.2.4.20.(16), either
- (a) meet the temporal patterns of alarm signals, or
- (b) be a combination of temporal pattern and voice relay.
Where strobes come in instead
Article 3.2.4.19, "Visible Signals", Sentence (1) requires visible signal devices in addition to audible ones (not as a substitute) including:
- (b) in assembly occupancies in which music and other sounds associated with performances could exceed 100 dBA
- (c) in any floor area in which the ambient noise level is more than 87 dBA
- (d) in any floor area in which the occupants (i) use ear protection devices, (ii) are located in an audiometric booth, or (iii) are located in sound-insulating enclosures
Ontario also carries clause (1)(i), requiring visible signals in living spaces in a suite of residential occupancy in a Group C major occupancy apartment building. NBC 2020 has no such clause: that one is Ontario's own addition, and it is the clause most likely to be missed by anyone designing from the national code.
Intelligibility has no number in the Code
Articles 3.2.4.22.(1)(b) and 3.2.4.23.(2)(b) require voice messages to be "audible and intelligible in all parts of the building." That is the whole standard of performance.
Appendix Note A-3.2.4.22.(1)(b) explains what intelligible means: that a person with average hearing and cognitive abilities can understand the transmitted messages. It goes on to say there is no absolute measure to predetermine the effect of loudspeakers, and that it may be necessary, once the building is furnished and occupied, to add loudspeakers to improve message quality. It cites ISO 7731 as suggesting a level at least 15 dBA above ambient.
There is no Common Intelligibility Scale value anywhere in Ontario's Building Code. We searched both Compendium volumes (2,261 pages) for "Common Intelligibility" and for "CIS." Zero hits.
So if a 0.70 CIS target is being applied on your project, it is coming from CAN/ULC-S524 or from the project specification. It is not coming from the Building Code, and saying "code requires 0.70 CIS" in a report is wrong.
What the Code does not tell you
The Building Code gives you levels and the conditions they are measured under. It does not give you:
- how to take the measurement: meter, weighting, position, dwell
- device spacing and layout
- how much level you lose through a closed door
All of that lives in CAN/ULC-S524, which is a paywalled standard. We are not going to guess at its contents or reproduce them from an unlicensed copy. If you need those procedures, you need the standard, through your employer, a library subscription, or purchase. What each of the four ULC standards covers is set out in S524, S537, S536 and S1001 explained.
Everything above is Building Code; it governs what gets installed and verified. Duties for systems already in service sit under the Fire Code, a separate regime: see the Ontario Fire Code for technicians.
How to check any of this yourself, free
- 2024 Building Code Compendium Vol. 1 and Vol. 2: $0.00 from Publications Ontario. Division B Article 3.2.4.18 is in Vol. 1; the Appendix A notes are in Vol. 2. This is the January 16, 2025 consolidation.
- NBC 2020 from NRC: free, no registration. Use it to see what Ontario changed.
- The amendment document in force: email Ontario.Amendment.Document@ontario.ca. Dated 17 July 2026. This is the only way to see the current text, and the only way to settle the maximum.
- Your AHJ: on the care occupancy scope and on the maximum, before it costs you a rejected verification.
Sources checked August 2026. Quotations are from the 2024 Building Code Compendium, January 16, 2025 Update (Containing O. Reg. 5/25), the most recent free consolidated Ontario text. The amendment document in force is dated 17 July 2026 and is not published online.
General information, not compliance advice. Confirm the edition in force for your project with your authority having jurisdiction.
Fire Alarm Academy provides educational content only. It does not confer any certification, licence or credential, and it is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or accredited by the Canadian Fire Alarm Association, the Electrical Contractors Association of Ontario, ULC Standards, UL Standards and Engagement, CSA Group, the Electrical Safety Authority, any authority having jurisdiction, or any manufacturer. Always work from the edition of any standard adopted by your authority having jurisdiction.
Frequently asked questions
Is 520 Hz required for fire alarm sounders in Ontario sleeping rooms?
No. Sentence 3.2.4.18.(6) requires a low frequency signal in sleeping rooms in residential or care occupancies but states no frequency. The only figure is a non-mandatory Appendix A note citing a range of 470 Hz to 570 Hz as more effective at waking people. 520 Hz is the NFPA 72 figure and the centre of that band; it appears nowhere in Ontario's Building Code. If it binds on your job it comes from a specification or a product listing, not the Code.
What is the maximum fire alarm sound pressure level in Ontario?
The free 2024 Compendium text is internally inconsistent. Sentence 3.2.4.18.(4)(a) says not more than 110 dBA at 3 m from the device, while (4)(b) permits exceeding 100 dBA provided 100 dBA is not exceeded at 2 000 mm above floor level, relief from a ceiling clause (a) no longer states. The revoked O. Reg. 332/12 said 100 dBA at 3 m; NBC 2020 says a flat 110 dBA with no clauses. We are not going to tell you which is correct. Request the amendment document in force, dated 17 July 2026, from Ontario.Amendment.Document@ontario.ca and confirm with your AHJ.
Does the 75 dBA sleeping room requirement apply to care occupancies in Ontario?
Not on the face of the printed Ontario text. Sentence 3.2.4.18.(5) says 'in a building of residential occupancy.' NBC 2020 says 'residential or care occupancy.' Ontario dropped care from that sentence but kept it in Sentence (6), the low frequency requirement. For a care occupancy sleeping room, the general floor area rule in Sentence (7) (10 dBA above ambient and not less than 65 dBA) is what remains in the text. Confirm with the AHJ before designing to it.
When do I need strobes instead of relying on sounders?
Article 3.2.4.19 requires visible signals in addition to audible ones, not instead of them. The triggers include assembly occupancies where performance sound could exceed 100 dBA, floor areas where ambient noise is more than 87 dBA, and floor areas where occupants use ear protection, are in an audiometric booth, or are in sound-insulating enclosures. Ontario adds clause (1)(i): living spaces in a suite of residential occupancy in a Group C major occupancy apartment building. NBC 2020 has no equivalent to that last one.
Is there a Common Intelligibility Scale (CIS) requirement in Ontario's Building Code?
No. A search of both 2024 Compendium volumes (2,261 pages) for 'Common Intelligibility' and 'CIS' returns zero hits. Articles 3.2.4.22.(1)(b) and 3.2.4.23.(2)(b) require voice messages to be audible and intelligible in all parts of the building, with no number. Appendix Note A-3.2.4.22.(1)(b) says there is no absolute measure to predetermine loudspeaker effect and cites ISO 7731 suggesting at least 15 dBA above ambient. A 0.70 CIS target on a project comes from CAN/ULC-S524 or the specification, not the Code.
Which article covers audibility in the 2024 Ontario Code?
Article 3.2.4.18, 'Audibility of Alarm Systems.' Under the revoked O. Reg. 332/12 it was 3.2.4.20; this article moved by two when Ontario renumbered Subsection 3.2.4 to match NBC 2020, though the shift is not uniform across the subsection and other articles moved by one or not at all. Visible signals are 3.2.4.19, and smoke alarm provisions including the 75 to 110 dBA in-suite range are now at 3.2.4.20.
Sources
- 2024 Building Code Compendium Vol. 1: free, January 16 2025 update (O. Reg. 5/25)
- 2024 Building Code Compendium Vol. 2: free, includes Appendix A notes
- NRC: National Building Code of Canada 2020, First Printing (free, no registration)
- Ontario e-Laws: O. Reg. 163/24 Building Code (in force 1 January 2025)
- City of Vancouver Bulletin 2022-002: installation of audible signal devices
- City of Markham Builder Tip 57-2015: audibility of alarm systems
- Ontario e-Laws: O. Reg. 213/07 Fire Code (full text, free)
- Ontario: 2024 Building Code structure and Ontario Amendment Document
- Standards Council of Canada: CAN/ULC-S524 scope and revision notice
Related guides
Where Ontario's Fire Alarm Rules Differ from the National Building Code
Ontario no longer has its own full-length Building Code. Since 1 January 2025, O. Reg. 163/24 (a regulation one page long) adopts the National Building Code of Canada 2020 as amended by an "Ontario Amendment Document" that the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing does not publish. Ontario's stated goal was eliminating at least 1,730 technical variations between the provincial and national requirements, so the surviving Ontario-specific rules are the interesting ones. For fire alarm systems we found twelve, plus one more in the occupancy classification table behind them, by reading the free Ontario Compendium against the free NBC 2020 PDF clause by clause: renumbered articles, a schools clause, a care and treatment carve-out, a hotel provision, retirement homes in two places, three changes to visible signals, a narrower sleeping-room audibility rule, and a maximum sound pressure level whose printed Ontario text contradicts itself. Here is every one, with what we could not resolve marked as unresolved.
Single-Stage vs Two-Stage Fire Alarm Systems in Ontario
A single-stage system sounds one signal (the alarm) on every audible signal device in the system, the moment any manual station, waterflow detecting device or fire detector operates. A two-stage system sounds an alert signal first, and escalates to a general alarm signal only if that alert is not acknowledged within 5 minutes. Ontario's Building Code fixes the choice in some occupancies: single-stage in Group F, Division 1 and in elementary and secondary schools, two-stage in Group B. Everything else is the designer's call. The school clause is an Ontario addition with no equivalent in NBC 2020.
Smoke Alarm vs Smoke Detector: Two Different Things in Ontario Law
They are not the same device and Ontario law does not treat them as the same device. A smoke alarm is self-contained: it senses smoke and sounds the alarm itself, at the device. A smoke detector is an initiating device that forms part of a fire alarm system. They are built to different standards (CAN/ULC-S531 and S553 for smoke alarms, CAN/ULC-S524 and S537 for detectors on a system) and once installed they fall under different parts of the Fire Code. Testing a smoke alarm is the landlord pressing the test button. Testing a smoke detector on a fire alarm system requires a person who has completed a program or course acceptable to the Fire Marshal. Same-looking disc on the ceiling, completely different legal regime.
Building Code vs Fire Code: Which One Governs What (Ontario)
The Building Code governs how a building is designed and constructed. The Fire Code governs how a building is operated and maintained once it is in use. In Ontario they are two separate regulations, O. Reg. 163/24 for the Building Code, O. Reg. 213/07 for the Fire Code, made under two separate statutes, enforced by different people, and each with its own table of referenced standards. The practical test on site is simple: if the work is construction, installation, extension or modification, you are in Building Code territory and the municipal building department and its permits are the enforcement path. If the system is already in service and you are inspecting, testing, maintaining or shutting it down, you are in Fire Code territory and the Chief Fire Official is the enforcement path. That split decides which standard applies, how often something has to be done, and whether Ontario names a qualification for the person doing it.